Roasted Green Tomato Salsa (Southern Salsa Verde)

When I went to a local fruit stand last weekend, the cashier started ringing me up for items an earlier customer decided not to buy and had left on the counter.  I thought I had cleared things up, but realized when I got home that some beautiful green tomatoes made their way into my Baggu bag.  I have been hesitant to buy green tomatoes since the only way I know how to prepare them is fried.  This clearly shows I had some learning to do.  I started browsing for green tomato recipes and came across several salsa recipes.  I remembered making Bobby Flay’s recipe for Shredded Chicken and Tomatillo Tacos with Queso Fresco and how much I loved the taste of the chicken after it soaked up the roasted green salsa flavor.  So I decided to use this as a guide to make some roasted green tomato salsa.

Here’s how I made it:

Ingredients:

  • 3 large green tomatoes, whole
  • 1 jalapeño pepper, whole
  • 1 bulb of garlic, top cut off to expose cloves
  • grapeseed or vegetable oil for drizzling
  • 1 small red onion, peeled and quartered
  • 1 cup of packed cilantro
  • half of a lime
  • 1 tsp. ground cumin
  • 2 Tbls. honey or agave
  • salt and pepper for seasoning
  1. Heat oven to 425 degrees.  Place green tomatoes, a bulb of garlic (top cut off so oil can reach cloves), and a jalapeño pepper in an oven-safe pan.  Drizzle with grape seed or canola oil.
  2. Roast vegetables in oven for 25-30 minutes.  Tomatoes and pepper should start to blacken on the outside, and the garlic should begin to turn soft.  Let cool for 15-20 minutes, then remove stems of tomatoes and pepper and remove garlic cloves from skin.  If you want your salsa to be less spicy, remove the seeds from the jalapeño.
  3. Place tomatoes, pepper, garlic, cilantro, red onion, juice of half a lime, honey, and cumin into a blender or food processor (I had to add my cilantro after blending the first ingredients because my blender is too small!).  Use a blender if you want the finished product to be more sauce-like, and a pulse on a food processor if you like your salsa chunky.  Season with salt and black pepper to taste.
  4. Store in the refrigerator and use within the week, or use this guide for freezing and canning food at home.

 

Roasted Green Tomato Salsa (Southern Salsa Verde)

Before and after roasting green tomatoes, jalapeño, and garlic.

Roasted Green Tomato Salsa (Southern Salsa Verde)

Blend the roasted vegetables with red onion and seasonings.

Roasted Green Tomato Salsa (Southern Salsa Verde)

Add the cilantro (this adds the extra green color).

Roasted Green Tomato Salsa (Southern Salsa Verde)

Use within the week, or can or freeze it for later.

There are a lot of ways to enjoy this salsa.  Scooping it up with chips, using it in Skinnytaste’s crock pot chicken tacos, using Bobby Flay’s taco recipe above, Jamie Oliver’s steak and salsa verde, add it to a taco salad or black beans and rice, or pour over poached whitefish.  Have more ideas or ways you use salsa verde?  Please share!  Comment below, or send me a tweet (@southernbeets).

Leave a Reply

